Logo Prima Biomed


Lucy Turnbull, AO Chairman

Ms Turnbull has strong links to the healthcare sector, having previously been Chairman of the New South Wales Government‘s Ministerial Advisory Committee on Biotechnology from 2001-2002, a Director of the Sydney Cancer Foundation from 2002-2006, and Director and Chair of the Sydney Children‘s Hospital Foundation from 1993-2000 and a former member of the Board of the Cancer Institute of NSW from 2008 to 2014.

Ms Turnbull also has a strong depth of experience in commercial legal practice and investment banking. During her career Ms. Turnbull has held a number of high profile positions, including Lord Mayor of the City of Sydney from 2003-2004 and, prior to that, Deputy Lord Mayor of Sydney from 1999-2003. She also served as a Director of Sealink Travel Group Ltd from 2013 to 2015.

Ms Turnbull is active in the non-profit sector. She is Chief Commissioner designate for the Greater Sydney Commission and was previously Deputy Chairman of the Commitee for Sydney and a board member of the US Studies Centre at Sydney University and the Centre for Independent Studies.

In 2012 she was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Business by the University of NSW for her contribution to business, philantrophy and local government. In 2011 she became an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the community, local government and business.

Albert WongDeputy Chairman

Originally from Hong Kong, Mr Wong has lived in Australia for over 40 years and has been involved in the stockbroking and investment banking industry for over 30 years. He was admitted as a Member of the Australian Securities Exchange in 1988 and was the principal of Intersuisse Limited until 1995 when he established the Barton Capital group of companies, including eStar Online. Both companies were listed on the Australian Securities Exchange. Mr Wong was a Founding Director of Gujarat NRE Resources NL and Pluton Resources Limited. He has been the business partner of former NSW Premier, The Hon. Neville Wran AC QC at Wran Partners from 2004-2011. He served as Chairman of Winmar Resources Ltd from 2009-2014 and Deputy Chairman of Kimberly Diamonds Limited from 2011-2014.

Mr Wong is Deputy Chairman of Prima BioMed Limited. Mr Wong has been widely involved in philanthropic activities including his directorships on the UNSW Foundation, Honory Life Governor and President of the University of Sydney Physics Foundation. Mr Wong helped seed Ian Thorpe's Fountain For Youth Foundation and served on its Board from 2003-2015. Mr Wong is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia, a Master Stockbroker of the Securities & Derivatives Industry Association and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Wong is also currently a director of the Children's Medical Research Institute and the CMRI Foundation.

Marc VoigtChief Executive Officer

Marc has more than 17 years of experience in the financial and biotech industry, having joined the Prima team in 2011 as the General Manager, European Operations based in Berlin, Germany.
In May 2012, he became Prima’s Chief Business Officer and in November 2012 its Chief Financial Officer, as well as continuing to focus on its European operations.

Having started his career at the Allianz Group working in pension insurances and funds, he moved to net.IPO AG, a publicly-listed boutique investment bank in Frankfurt where he was focused on IPOs and venture capital investments.
Marc then worked for a number of years as an investment manager for a midsize venture capital fund based in Berlin, specialising in healthcare. He also gained considerable operational experience while serving in different management roles with Revotar Biopharmaceuticals, Caprotec Bioanalytics and Medical Enzymes AG, where he handled several successful licensing transactions and financing rounds.

Pete MeyersNon-Executive Director

Pete Meyers is currently the Chief Financial Officer of Eagle Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ: EGRX).  From May 2016 to January 2017, Mr. Meyers served as the Chief Financial Officer of Motif BioSciences Inc. (NASDAQ: MTFB; AIM: MTFB), where he led the execution of the company’s November 2016 US IPO.  From August 2013 to March 2016, Mr. Meyers served as Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of TetraLogic Pharmaceuticals Corporation (NASDAQ: TLOG), where he led the execution of the company’s December 2013 IPO and subsequent acquisition of Shape Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 

Prior to his role at TetraLogic, Mr. Meyers spent 18 years in health care investment banking, holding positions of increasing responsibility at Dillon, Read &Co., Credit Suisse First Boston LLC and, most recently, as Co-Head of Global Health Care Investment Banking at Deutsche Bank Securities Inc.

Mr. Meyers is the Chairman and President of The Thomas M. Brennan Memorial Foundation, Inc.  He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Finance from Boston College and a Master of Business Administration degree from Columbia Business School. 

Russell Howard, PhDNon-Executive Director

Dr Russell Howard is an Australian scientist, executive manager, and entrepreneur; he was recently the overall winner of the 2014 Advance Global Australian Award for his global impact on the biotechnology field and green chemistry. He was a pioneer in the field of molecular parasitology and in leading the commercialization of one of the most important methods used widely today in molecular biology today called “DNA Shuffling“ or “Molecular Breeding.” He is an inventor of five patents and has over 150 scientific publications.

After earning his PhD in biochemistry from the University of Melbourne, Dr Howard has held positions at a number of leading research laboratories around the world, including the Immunoparasitology Laboratory at the Walter & Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne and the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, where he became a tenured investigator. In industry, Dr Howard worked at Schering-Plough’s DNAX Research Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology in Palo Alto, California; was the President and Scientific Director of Affymax, Inc.; and was the co-founder and CEO of Maxygen, Inc. after its spin-out of Affymax-GlaxoWellcome.

As Maxygen’s CEO, Dr Howard led its IPO and a secondary offering raising a total of US $260 million in capital. Under Dr Howard, Maxygen successfully developed and partnered dozens of technology applications and products. After leaving Maxygen in 2008, Dr Howard started the CleanTech company Oakbio, Inc. and remains involved in a number of other innovative biotechnology companies in the USA and Australia. Dr Howard is also currently Executive Chairman of NeuClone Pty Ltd and was a Director of Circadian Technologies Ltd from 2013 to 2015.